Monday, November 20, 2017

Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart *plus* a Giveaway





Happy Monday, My Lovelies!  I'm thrilled to be the first stop on this tour promoting Nicole Baart's Little Broken Things.  If you're looking for a remarkable, suspenseful book to read during the holidays, your search is over.

According to Goodreads:

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn's house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.


While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.






My review:

I almost read this entire book in one sitting: It.  Is.  That.  Good.  I was completely intrigued with the book's premise (via the Goodreads synopsis) and it didn't disappoint.  The action of the story takes place in less than a week's time (Wednesday through Saturday), from the time Nora sends her sister Quinn the first cryptic text message requesting that Quinn "keep something safe for her" until the emotional conclusion.  What makes this book so incredible are the family dynamics and drama between the sisters and their mother Liz.

The "something" is Everlee, and her story breaks my heart.  Nora is insistent on keeping her safe from one of the most vile predators ever to grace a book's pages.   Quinn loves children, and she wants to teach (her degree is in secondary education), however Quinn is disappointed that she wasn't offered a job at a local preschool.  Although Nora and Quinn have never been close, Nora trusts Quinn with Everlee, insisting that she's "one of us."  This and the fact that Everlee has "Sanford eyes" leads to a couple of misunderstandings.

I enjoyed getting to know Liz; she's much more complex and capable than I thought at the beginning of the story. It's one element that makes this book a compelling read: Nicole Baart gives us information about Liz like peeling and onion.  She removes one layer, and you think you have Liz all figured out until she removes the next one.  Liz is a widow, but her late husband Jack Sr. was such an ass in life that his ghost is all over the place in this book.  Thank goodness that in spite of horrible, predatory men in the book there are a few sweet, kind, loving men, like Quinn's husband Walker, her ex-fiancĂ© Bennett, and Nora's friend, Ethan.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys books with: family drama and dynamics; very well-drawn, complex characters; and suspenseful plots.  I figured out a major plot point early in the book, but it did not impede my enjoyment of this book at all.  Plus, the "After" or epilogue is so brilliant that I smiled all afternoon thinking about it.  It's one of the best-written epilogues I've ever read, and it epitomizes how beauty can stem from little broken things.

Disclosure:  I received a copy of Little Broken Things from the publisher via TLC Book Tours in exchange for a fair and honest review.  And thanks to TLC, I have a copy to giveaway as well.  The giveaway is open to readers living in the United States.






a Rafflecopter giveaway



Until next time...

Happy reading!
Ricki Jill



Below please find the Goodreads link, purchase links, and links for Nicole Baart's social media:




Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble










Nicole Baart’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, November 20thThe Sketchy Reader
Tuesday, November 21stFrom the TBR Pile
Tuesday, November 21stKritter’s Ramblings
Wednesday, November 22ndBooks a la Mode – author guest post
Friday, November 24thBooks & Bindings
Friday, November 24thJathan & Heather
Monday, November 27thSnowdrop Dreams of Books
Tuesday, November 28thA Bookish Affair
Wednesday, November 29thReadaholic Zone
Friday, December 1stThe Baking Bookworm
Monday, December 4thKaty’s Library blog and Instagram
Wednesday, December 6thLit Wit Wine Dine
Friday, December 8thMs. Nose in a Book
Monday, December 11thBewitched Bookworms
Monday, December 11thNovel Gossip blog and Instagram
Tuesday, December 12thWest Metro Mommy Reads
Wednesday, December 13thLaura’s Reviews
Monday, December 18thGirls in Books blog and Instagram
Monday, December 18thPatricia’s Wisdom
Wednesday, December 20thThoughts on This ‘n That
Friday, December 22ndNot in Jersey




28 comments:

  1. YES!!! The perfect question for me. I give books for every occasion! My grandkids get books for birthdays and surprise gifts all the time. I don't ask for anything for Christmas gifts. (we don't give gifts much in our family...I know that sounds odd to some people! lol) Thanks for a chance to win this book. I know I would love it if you do! Hugs, Diane

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes, books are important in our family. The grandkids will receive renewed highlights magazine subscriptions and I usually give hubby B&N gift card.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am would LOVE to have a copy of this book. It sounds like one of those all-nighters I pull once in a while. lol

    For some reason your blog has dropped off my sidebar. Wondering if you changed anything? Anyway, I am going to try to re-add it right now while I am thinking about it. I read from my sidebar. Today, I just came looking for you because I hadn't seen a post in a long time....duh....xo Diana

    ReplyDelete
  4. I always give books for Christmas!! I don't usually receive books in return but I do receive gift cards which I then spend on books. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I give specific books to specific people (I love seeing their faces), but I also like giving gift packages such as books with Gift Cards etc...
    http://thebestbasicblogger.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  6. ooh ooh ooh! I really wan to read this!
    I just finished reading
    'What was mine' by Helen Klein Ross and it was one of those one sitting type books too.
    Thanks for this:)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds like a nice book, books are awesome

    ReplyDelete
  8. Suspense novels are my favorites!
    Brenda

    ReplyDelete
  9. I give each child (my own kids, nieces/nephews) a book with money tucked inside the cover. Best of both worlds!

    ReplyDelete
  10. You had me at Liane Moriarty. Lofty praise indeed. Peeling the layers of this mysterious request is intriguing enough but I feel I have to find out about this “brilliant” epilogue.

    ReplyDelete
  11. This sounds like a good one, Ricki Jill. When you don't want to put it down, practically finish it off in a sitting, then you know you are onto something good! And yes, I give books as often as I can. And people love them. (Or maybe I just do a lot of swapping with people who love books in general!)

    ReplyDelete
  12. This sounds great and will be waiting on my Books to Read board on Pinterest for me. Thanks for the great review!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yes, I love giving books as gifts and there's definitely a few I'm hoping to receive for Christmas. :)

    Wow, you read this in one sitting? I'm intrigued! I'll definitely plan on reading this!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Yes, I always give books as gifts for Christmas as well as birthdays. I do want some books for Christmas,too.
    Marilyn

    ReplyDelete
  15. Hi,
    I think this sounds like a good one, as always, great review.
    Carla

    ReplyDelete
  16. It would be hard not to want to read this book after your rave review! Thanks RJ!

    ReplyDelete
  17. In my opinion an epilogue can really make or break a book - I'm so pleased to see that this epilogue was so great!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Thank you so much for this gorgeous review! *blushes* Seriously, I am so grateful that Little Broken Things connected with you. xoxo - Nicole

    ReplyDelete
  19. Yes I often give books at Christmas

    ReplyDelete
  20. I do give books for Christmas. I'd love to get books for Christmas.

    ReplyDelete
  21. I am a librarian, so yes I love giving books as gifts during Christmas. I will most likely ask for a few books this year.

    ReplyDelete
  22. I give books every year and already have asked for several. Some of my kids and grand kids are avid readers, like I am!

    ReplyDelete
  23. I always gift books for Christmas and I have several on my list this year as well!

    ReplyDelete
  24. The answer is yes to both questions

    ReplyDelete
  25. Yes I have always given books as gifts, as a lot of friends and family read a lot. I love asking for true crime books.

    ReplyDelete
  26. I do give books as gifts. Thank you

    ReplyDelete

Because you leave comments, you are awesomesauce!