Friday, October 26, 2018

Literary Friday: The Lost for Words Bookshop


Happy Literary Friday, My Lovelies!  Last week I read one of the best books I've read so far this year: The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland.  Rarely do I read a book that stays with me for days after completing it.  This book has done just that, and Loveday's story and character touched my very soul!

According to Goodreads:

The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop.

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets? 

My Review:

Yes, this novel is perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop.  I loved both of those novels, too!

The Lost for Words Bookshop is definitely character-driven.  Loveday Cardew's story will touch, break, and uplift your heart.  Told from Loveday's point of view, I felt like I got to know her well.  She's an only child with a tragic childhood she'd rather forget.  She's built tons of fortifications around her heart, so much so that she's been unaware of those who've loved and protected her while she was in the British foster care system.   Loveday begins working at the Lost for Words Bookshop when she's an older teen.  Archie, the bookstore's owner, is a bigger than life character with quite the storied past.  He's gregarious, loquacious, and loves to tell stories about his many escapades.  Archie is like a surrogate father to Loveday, and I enjoyed reading about their repartee and "system" in dealing with customers.  

Although she clearly prefers books to people and isn't very trusting, she starts dating a jerk named Rob, a doctoral student studying the Italian Renaissance.  Unfortunately he's mentally ill and self-medicates.  He uses his illness to get away with very bad behavior, probably because he's also a narcissist.  But when he commits his first abusive act she does not take anything off of him, bully for her!  Then when sweet poet and close-up magician Nathan enters her life, I was holding my breath because I didn't want her to mistreat him just because of her past experiences with Rob the Jerk!  Loveday is a bit of a closet poet herself, and Nathan hosts an open mic poetry night at the local pub.  She accepts his invitation to attend, and she eventually shares her poetry.

Stephanie Butland eases the reader into Loveday's past.  Her spirit, tenacity, and transformation are miraculous given her background, and the entire narrative mesmerized me. I couldn't put this book down, and I was so sad when it ended.  Sidenote:  I love her given name!  It's sometimes a surname, but also a given name usually only in Cornwall.  Her name suits her!

Like I said in the introduction, this book will always stay with me.  It has definitely made my top ten for books that touched my heart and soul.  I highly recommend it!  I checked this one out from my local library because I noticed it and thought I'd like it because I enjoy reading stories about bookshops and libraries.  I will be ordering a copy for our home library this week because I know I will want to read this book again and again!


Below is an affiliate link for purchasing The Lost for Words Bookshop via IndieBound.


Support Independent Bookstores - Visit IndieBound.org


I hope y'all have a great weekend!  We're off to another horse show in Tuscaloosa!

Until next time...

Happy reading!
Ricki Jill

6 comments:

  1. Oh yay! Can't wait to read this. Like you, I love books that revolve around book stores.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow, you really loved this! I admire how many books you read! Brrr, I hope you dont freeze at the horse show!
    Jenna

    ReplyDelete
  3. Stop it! Because of you I have a long list of books I need to get and read.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It's neat when a book really stays with you!

    I am probably the only one who didn't like The Little Paris Bookshop, but I made myself finish it. It was a really popular book in Europe, probably because the author was German; I think. Anyways, when I finished, I left my copy for someone else at an Italian hotel, and I never get rid of books. xoxo Su

    ReplyDelete
  5. Well, I loved Little Paris Bookshop and this does sound quite wonderful. I'd not heard about it so thanks for the recommendation -- like I need another book to add to the pile!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This book sound right up my alley! I cannot wait to read it.

    ReplyDelete

Because you leave comments, you are awesomesauce!